Monday, February 1, 2010


The Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya is celebrating the Federal Territory's day today. The 1st of February of every year since 1974 was earmarked as the Federal Territory's day ever since an area covering 244 sq. km of Kuala Lumpur City was carved out of the state of Selangor to form the first parcel of the three regions of Federal Territories on that date.

Kuala Lumpur, a mining town founded in 1890 was conferred the city status in 1972 before it became a Federal territory. Bank Negara Malaysia issued a commemorative coin to commemorate the event.

Subsequently, to celebrate the occasion of 100 years of Kuala Lumpur establishment, another commemorative coin was released by Bank Negara Malaysia in 1990.

Labuan Island was later approved by the Sabah state government to become the second region of the Federal Territory in 1984.

Putrajaya, the new Malaysian administrative capital, named after the first Malaysian premier, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra was officially added as the third and final region of the Federal Territory in 2001 during the premiership of Tun Dr Mahathir, the architect of Putrajaya and the great visionary Malaysian leader.

To all the Federal Territories folks, have a nice day and thank you for keeping your beautiful environment clean, fresh and green.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...